Answer these questions clearly or do not pass go:

March 29, 2009

WHAT DO I STAND TO LOSE WHEN I EXTRACT MYSELF FROM LOCATING DEVICES?

Ditching certain locating devices, like the closed system operations of GPS or Map Quest or my cell phone i begin to loose my efficiency to operate.  The quickness with which i can move through time.  I lose sight of an end goal and allow all possible locations near and far to be my end point.  I lose my accuracy, i may use all my sensibilities in attempt to foresee my end point but human error weighs on my senses. I become easily lost.  But if efficiency, accuracy and and end are not my goals, then i embrace a journey of peaceful meanderings; being affected, wondering, and growing, at all i encounter.

WHAT DO WE GAIN/LOSE IN ENTANGLEMENTS WITH CERTAIN TECHNOLOGIES?

Specifically in using locating devices:

We gain efficiency, directness, facileness, rapidity of motion, time, and accuracy.  What we lose are awareness of place; observation or evidence recorded of the journey (moving too fast to stop and do this);  A loss of heightened sensations (only noticed when one is moving slowly and takes their time); the injection of the unknown which may help us discover new modes of efficiently moving on our own; We lose confidence in our innate senses and and overall loss of self reliance.  

In other words we gain speed and accuracy but loose a larger sense of place and self.  By plugging into a thing that is not a part of ourselves, we are allowing something that can be turned on or off to direct our movements.  We are pressured to come to an end, to get there quickly and succinctly.  This is different than honing our own internal sense of direction, from wandering around gathering information until we find our own way.  Being directed or dominated by something outside of ourselves has benefits yet at the cost of loosing our personal internal sensibilities.

Leave a Reply

